Guest Review ~ Kiss Crush Collide by Christina Meredith

I’d like to take the time to thank Jamie from The Eclectic Bookshelf for stopping by and taking the time to guest review Kiss Crush Collide by Christina Meredith.

Kiss Crush CollideTitle: Kiss Crush Collide
Author: Christina Meredith
Series: N/A
Release Date: December 27, 2011
Reviewed Format: ARC

Synopsis:

Leah has the life most high school girls would kill for—popularity, glowing grades, a rich, athletic boyfriend. So why does she feel like she can’t breathe? And why can’t she stop thinking about the boy from the country club? The one who isn’t her boyfriend, the one that her mother would never, ever approve of, the one that her perfect older sisters would never, ever look at twice. The one who is always looking back at her. Irresistible attraction, smoldering glances, the bad boy and the good girl—Kiss Crush Collide has everything that a steamy forbidden romance should, and then some.

With graceful and honest writing and an electric love story, this is a book about growing into your own skin. For fans of Perfect Chemistry, Sarah Dessen, and John Green.

Review:

First, I’d like to thank The Keeper for letting me drop by and post a couple of guest reviews on both her blogs.  Thank You!  Now moving on to Kiss Crush Collide….

I was very excited when Kiss Crush Collide arrived in my mailbox.  It’s been toted as a love story from the very beginning, from the cover, to the title, to the synopsis, to the authors and books that it’s being compared too.  The very unfortunate thing about this situation was…that all that information was pretty misleading and I was VERY disappointed to find out that there really wasn’t much romance at all.

I didn’t feel that the book was actually about the characters, Leah and Duffy, themselves.  The fact that their relationship is what the book is being sold on and I felt that there wasn’t really anything going on in the book (chemistry, dialogue, etc.) to build their relationship on left me very frustrated and unhappy.

I did like the premise of the book and the basic idea of the book, it just needed a little more development for my liking. Our main character Leah is the last of three very successful sisters and she feels like she doesn’t even fit in with her own family.  She doesn’t want to be like the rest of her family, she wants to be her own person. Which I liked. 

Overall, I thought that this book came with some pretty high expectations and it didn’t really live up to them.  If you’re looking for a romance, skip this book but if you’re looking for something that is a quick read that is chock full of drama and turmoil pick this one up.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s