Monday Musings #1

This meme is hosted by Should Be Reading.

 

 

This week’s musing asks…

Other than for school, do you read books to learn how to do something? What was/were the topic(s)?

I do read a lot of books to try to learn new things.  I’m not really afraid to try anything at least once.  Just to get an idea of what it’s all about I’ll read up on it.  Here are some of the things that I’ve read up on to learn more about:

  • Knitting – My sister-in-law taught me and a co-worker how to do the basic knit stitch on a lunch break one night.  I later decided I wanted to do more than just knit scarves so I checked out Knitting for Dummies (Yup it exists) and I haven’t looked back yet.  I’m even working with the “ultra scary” Double Point Knitting Needles and I LOVE them.
  • Digital Photography – A couple of years ago I laid down a pretty decent chunk of cash on a REALLY nice DSLR Camera. Since then in an effort to better my photography skills I’ve read numerous books on the subject.  I’ve gotten better but I still have so much to learn.
  • Cocker Spaniels – We adopted one from the shelter and we did a TON of studying up on her and her breed before we brought her home.
  • Shih Tzu’s – We adopted one from the shelter and like her spaniel sister we studied up on the breed before we actually brought her home.

Those are just a few of the things that I’ve read books on in order to further my knowledge of the subject.  Leave me a link to yours and I’ll be sure to visit your post.

5 thoughts on “Monday Musings #1

Leave a Reply

